hang in there kitty, I’m mad as hell…

4 Jun

“See the good”, or something to that effect, is a classic of sit-on-yer-arse inspirational motivation…

It’s needed, don’t get me wrong about that at all. Without seeing the good in things you can easily get disillusioned with yourself and the world and end up packing it all in for the sake of knocking back a few beers under your local bridge with your new ‘best mate 4eva’ bridgey Joe, who just so happens to be a concrete support column.

Without seeing the good you can mess things up proper. Seeing the good in even the smallest thing can give you the hope, respect, inspiration and courage to continue fighting whatever demons are waiting in the wings and slowly sculpt yourself into the person you want to be. This is an essential part of improving yourself and gathering the strength to continue on a long, hard road. Unfortunately, there’s a trend going around that reasons you must only see the good if you want to live a happy, fulfilling and prosperous life. Not so, true believers. Not so at all. If anything, this is a dangerous thing to believe.

This way of thinking is productive but let it run loose too wild for too long and, slowly but surely, it’ll warp itself into the attitude that you should always see the good and only the good, regardless of what’s happening, resulting in you ignoring the bad sides to events and eventually shutting yourself off from bad situations altogether.

Now there are times when I’m a complete legend (…humble of me, I know); where I’m more than happy to reassure someone that they should just “hang in there kitty”, stay calm, assess the situation and deal with it carefully. Once in a while though, just once in a while, I’ll decide to prop up a giant banner screaming “Drop kitty…DROP!!” while shouting profanities at the subject.

Not because I’m an insensitive idiot, of course (although I have been known to drunkenly shout at people for displaying despicable personality traits), but because I really think you should look both ways, not just at the good parts of things.

By looking at the bad parts of the world and, more importantly, ourselves, we can keep from getting complacent. I love noticing someone behaving ridiculously because it gives me a marker: “Don’t end up like that“.

Everything has a balance, good and bad are no different. To only focus on the good in life is to foolishly confuse yourself into thinking “well damn, everything is alright”. It’s not. You’re not. As much as there is plenty of good in the world, you can’t argue that it’s not also full of hate, indifference, discrimination, apathy, greed and idiots. You could very well be one of them (but if you’re reading this you’re probably not…everyone I’ve met on here seems to be pretty damn worthy so far;)

If you want to get through life posting as many inspirational quotes as possible while looking at pictures of sunsets, blissfully ignorant of the vicious contrast within our society and culture, you go right ahead. I’m not mad at ya, don’t worry (nor am I against sunsets, for the record). If you want to do something about yourself though, you’ve got to get mad every once in a while.

There’s a scene in the classic film “The Warriors” where, after completing a dangerous journey home and getting off the L train at the last stop overlooking a sunrise on a dilapidated, depressing Coney Island, the main characer queitly asks “This is it? this is what we’ve been fighting all night to get back to?”. Taking the time to look long and hard at the state of things can be a very good spur for improvement. If the character in the above scene had been inclined to see the good, he might well have just remarked “Aw geez super! the junkies left some clean needles on the ground over there!”…

Everytime I hold the door open for someone who doesn’t acknowledge it, everytime  I watch someone take their shopping or coffee or purchases without wishing the clerk a nice day, everytime I see a politician (or anybody else for that matter) scream dishonesty with their body language, everytime I see someone shirk a moral responsibility or the possibility of a virtuous life and everytime I notice a person hide from themselves….I love it.

I love it because it gets me mad. When I’m mad, I learn about the world and the people within it. See the good and learn what you want to be, see the bad and,even though it might be hard or depressing, learn what you don’t.

On a related, and hopefully brief, sidenote, I find it very interesting that in this day and age of respect, equality and “everyone is entitled to their say and their right to say it” mentality, we still find make time and effort to quietly/subtly judge or discriminate against everything…except ourselves and the most basic elements.

Comment on someone’s clothes, their views, their racial backround and the stereotypes hidden within, their music choice or even their personality and you’ll always find people who’ll line up on either side of the divide (whether they’ll admit it openly or not). But, comment on someone’s actions or behaviour, for example: “you were too selfish there, calm down a little”, and suddenly everyone comes to the same defence- “hey man, don’t be so, like, judgemental!”. The reason? we’re all afraid the spotlight will shine on us next.

I’m not afraid of the spotlight, in fact I welcome it. There might be times when it highlights some things I don’t want to acknowledge, but that’s all part of the process. Helps me learn and improve.

7 Responses to “hang in there kitty, I’m mad as hell…”

  1. Zia June 5, 2011 at 5:17 am #

    Quoted you here:
    http://kziah.wordpress.com/2011/06/04/average-at-best/
    Hope that’s ok!

    • Zia June 5, 2011 at 5:17 am #

      P.S. Really liked this one :)

      • orionscoat June 5, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

        hey happy days; no worries at all! thanks a lot:)

        All the best

  2. Deeone June 6, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Hey Sean, Great post mate! I understand completely what you’re saying. I too, try for the most part to remain positive and keep those happy thoughts coming in constantly, but at times it’s important to grip reality and see that not everything on this gorgeous planet is as perfect as the planet itself. I try not to dwell so much on the bad stuff, but certainly aware of it’s presence.

    I actually think when something has happened that causes me to get mad, is where I actually produce my best pieces. Which always pulls out a smile when I make the connection between my getting fed up and producing a pretty decent blog post. I think that’s partly because the “spotlight” tho, I see myself better when I look at the mistakes or mishaps of others. It’s sort of like the what not to do.

    Anyhow, I really enjoyed this post. You’re an awesome writer man! Completely Awesome! I’m so glad we’ve connected. Keep it up!

    Hey BTW, are you on Facebook or Twitter? I’d love to connect with you there as well.

    • orionscoat June 6, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

      Hey cheers man! I really appreciate it

      “I try not to dwell so much on the bad stuff, but certainly aware of it’s presence.”

      Well said!! I should have noted that actually; Knowing the two and keeping them apart is what makes all the difference

      To be honest I have a facebook somewhere but haven’t used it in years haha, I’m not too crazy about it. I’m not on twitter but I’ve been thinking about it, who knows maybe in the future I’ll push myself to get one- you’ll be the first to know when I do!

      All the best mate, take care

  3. offthefrontporch June 21, 2011 at 4:10 am #

    Wow, I definitely agree, going through a difficult circumstance myself. It’s grating when people give the cliches of ‘things will get better,’ ‘or you’re doing really well,’ or the worst ‘god’s gonna bring something good out of this.’ I believe anything beautiful, anything with depth includes the acknowledgement of the bad, the negative, the painful. You can’t separate the two. And the good–without the history of hurt–is sentimental, sappy, shallow, and not the kind of goodness I ever want to pursue in the first place.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Average at best! « Adventure Book - June 5, 2011

    […] his recent post, Hang in there kitty, I’m mad as hell, Orionscoat (I don’t know his real name) wrote “By looking at the bad parts of the […]

Leave a Reply

